Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Scholarship Recipients Announced


The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year.  Since 2004, when the program was developed, over $396,000 has been provided in scholarship support to students from 35 different communities in southeast Iowa. The intent of the scholarship program is to invest in the education of those students that may look to southeast Iowa for employment in health care following the completion of their studies. Each scholarship application is individually evaluated and scored by a committee of area professionals through a blind review process. The anonymous applicants are scored based on their academic record, achievement, and area of study. Additionally, preference is given to applicants who express a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of their studies and/or are pursuing education in a health career field identified as a local workforce shortage area.

“This year, 16 talented students received scholarship awards totaling $23,000, said Amy Nossaman, the Legacy Foundation’s Grants Program Manager. “The recipient pool is the best of the best. The community would be extremely fortunate if any of them choses the Ottumwa area as the place to begin their new health care careers.

The 2019-2020 scholarship recipients are listed alphabetically below:

Charlie Altfillisch (Ottumwa)

Creighton University School of Medicine

Emily Bemis (Packwood)

Truman State University

Kate Birchmier (Bloomfield)

University of Nebraska Medical Center

Amanda Brandt (Ottumwa)

Chamberlain College of Nursing

Taylor Buch (Fairfield)

Graceland University

Ellen Carlson (Ottumwa)

University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

Claire Carmichael (Oskaloosa)

University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine

Katelyn Camp (Newton)

Des Moines University

Sydney Cormeny (Ottumwa)

Iowa Wesleyan University

John Davis (Moulton)

Iowa State University

Nikki Drish (Batavia)

Weber State

Megan Mwangi (Sigourney)

Briar Cliff University

Samantha Rosonke (Prairie City)

University of Iowa

Jennifer Tomlin (Albia)

Chamberlain College of Nursing

Maggie Voyles (Blakesburg)

University of Sioux Falls

Mallory Wells (Milton)

Iowa State University

For more information on the LCL Scholarship program, please contact Amy Nossaman at (641) 455-5260.