Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Reception Held for Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship Winners

The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation recently hosted a reception for the recipients of the 2016 Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Care Career Scholarship. This scholarship program, started in 2004, has provided over $324,000 to area students pursuing a career in health care. According to Byron Leu, Board Chairman for the Legacy Foundation, the scholarship winners were chosen because they are pursuing careers in “high need” areas of health care include nursing, physical therapy, dentistry, pharmacy, podiatry, ARNP and medicine. “The goal of the scholarship”, stated Amy Nossaman, Grants Program Manager for the Legacy Foundation, “is to not only help these talented students offset some college expenses, but to also invest in them with the hope that they will return to Southeast Iowa to practice once they complete their studies.”

This year, $24,400 was awarded with scholarships ranging from $300 to $2,000. The recipients are chosen based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and field of study. A preference is given to applicants that express an interest in returning to the area once they complete their studies. This year’s reception was once again held at the Rural Health Education Center on the Indian Hills Community College campus. In addition to the college scholarship winnerCaseys, Kaylyn Little, a high school student attending the summer Health Career Academy at IHCC, was awarded a $500 scholarship for her outstanding essay. The keynote speaker, Dr. Gregory Casey (pictured right), shared interesting stories as a trauma surgeon in Detroit, why he chose Ottumwa as his new home, and the many lessons he learned along his educational journey.

A special note of thanks goes out to Dr. Casey and the LCL Scholarship Committee members that helped make this event special. The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation wishes the best of luck to all the 2016 scholarship winners who are listed below.


Nicole Helm- Indian Hills Community College

Tara Selvy- Des Moines University


Kristin Fipps- Drake University


Kaitlyn Appler- University of Iowa


Mylo Wells- University of Iowa

Mount Pleasant

Tyler Moeller- University of Iowa


Shania Cubit-Drake University

Keisha Jannenga- William Penn University

Andrew Richmond- University of Iowa


Andrew Altfillisch – Creighton University

Charles Altfillisch- Creighton University

Talitha Ford- University of Iowa

Spencer Hammack- Des Moines University

Mitchell Hardie- Drake University

Ciarra McDonald- Indian Hills Community College

Kyle Nicholson- University of Iowa

Shane Riley- University of Iowa

Nicholas Sedore- Wartburg College

Sydney Strunk- Cornell College

Summer West- William Penn University

Ellen Willhoit- Simpson College


Angela Fulton- Indian Hills Community College


Andrew Fritz- University of Nebraska Omaha

Courtney Herman- Indian Hills Community College