Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Legacy Youth Alliance Bids Farewell To Six Members

As the end of the 2018-2019 school year comes to a close and summer vacations begin, the Legacy Youth Alliance bids farewell to six graduating seniors. The Legacy Youth Alliance, is a youth philanthropy program through the Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation and has members from the four high schools that serve Wapello County. “The schools have been awesome partners and fully support their participating students,” stated Grants Program Manager, Amy Nossaman.

The 2019 graduating seniors are Laney Black from Cardinal High School, Jenny Faybik and Maggie Voyles, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont High School, Christian Silva-Zuniga and Eddy Aquino from Ottumwa High School, and Zoey Wright from Pekin High School. “Maggie, Jenny, Christian, and Laney have been with me from the beginning. They helped shape and build the program into what it is today by speaking with all the local media, presenting to civic groups, and seeking out grant opportunities in their respective schools.”  Amy admits that losing this group of seniors leaves her a little melancholy, but she also looks forward to getting to know and learn from the new members.

The nine new members joining the Legacy Youth Alliance are Sarah Eubanks, Alex Babcock, Kaitlyn Emery and Taylor Sylvestor from Pekin, Kaitlyn Baeza and Hayden Short from OHS, Carson Stetter and Allison Walker from EBF, and Sophie Langford and Grant Pedersen from Cardinal. The new members will have orientation over the summer and be ready to join returning members, Jarret Greiner, Ryan Eddy, Evan Hanson, and Faith Goudy, when school starts up in August.

The Legacy Youth Alliance grants support youth-led projects and youth-serving organizations. The fall grant cycle will open on October 1, 2019. Questions on the Legacy Youth Alliance grant program can be directed to Amy Nossaman.