Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

LCL Scholarship Winners Announced

The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship for the 2013-2014 school year.  Since 2004, when the program was developed, over $246,000 has been provided in scholarship support to students pursuing a health care career. “Our recipient pool is comprised of 21 talented students whose fields of study include, among others; physician, pharmacist, podiatrist, physical therapist, ARNP, optometrist, and dentist,” said Kelly Genners, the Legacy Foundation’s director of community leadership & grant-making. “Our community would be extremely fortunate if any of them chose Ottumwa as a place to begin their new health care careers.

This year, $26,500 was awarded with scholarship amounts ranging from $500 to $3,000.  These recipients were selected on the basis of outstanding academic record, achievement and area of study.  A preference was given to applicants who expressed a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of studies and those pursuing education in a health career identified as a local workforce shortage area.

The 2013 scholarship recipients are listed below:

Michael Anderson  (Ottumwa)
University of Iowa

Alicia Nicole Bettis  (Albia)
Creighton University

Stacie Cobler  (Ottumwa)
Saint Josephs College of Maine

Jerica Gretter  (Harper)
Mount Mercy University

Caitlin Hainley  (Mingo)
Des Moines Area Community College

Spencer Hammack  (Ottumwa)
Central College

Mitchell Hardie  (Ottumwa)
Drake University

Rachel Hinebaugh  (Ottumwa)
St. Ambrose University

Justin Hunter  (Drakesville)
William Penn University

Jacqueline Kincart   (Bloomfield)
Iowa State University

Sindy Magaly  (Mt. Pleasant)
Iowa Wesleyan College

Jordan McCoy  (Exline)
Houston Baptist University

Kyle Nicholson  (Ottumwa)
University of Iowa

Rachel Palen  (Ottumwa)
Des Moines University

Andrea Rose  (Ottumwa)
University of Iowa

Kelsey Smithart   (Ottumwa)
Des Moines University

Stacy Thomas  (Centerville)
University of Iowa

Douglas Thompson   (Ottumwa)
Des Moines University

Lyndsay Veenstra   (Oskaloosa)
William Penn University

Jacqueline Vonderhaar  (Ottumwa)
Drake University

Terry Zmolek  (Winfield)
Iowa Wesleyan College