Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Laboratory Control Ltd. Scholarship Awards Announced

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship for the 2017-2018 school year. Since 2004, the Laboratory Control Limited Endowment has provided over $347,000 in scholarships to students from 31 different communities in southeast Iowa.

“This program is about investing and supporting our local talent, said Amy Nossaman, Grants Program Manager. The LCL Health Career Scholarship assists these students along in their educational journey towards a career in health care with the hope that they will return here once they graduate.” This year, $24,000 was awarded to 15 students with scholarship amounts ranging from $1,000 to $2,000.  The 2017 scholarship recipients represent eight different communities in Southeast Iowa. The recipients were selected on the basis of outstanding academic record and area of study with preference given to applicants who expressed a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of studies and those pursuing education in a health career identified as a workforce shortage area. The scholarship recipients’ courses of study include pharmacy, physical therapy, nursing, radiology, dentistry, and nurse practitioner.


Kaitlyn Appler – University of Iowa

Kate Birchmeier – University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Shania Cubit – Drake University 

Emma Dinneen – University of Iowa

Brandon Enloe – University of Iowa 

Kristin Fipps – Drake University 

Talitha Ford – University of Iowa

Andrew Fritz – University of Nebraska-Omaha

Courtney Herman – University of Iowa

Ashley Nelson –Indian Hills Community College 

Matthew Rossler – Calvin College 

Tara Selvy – Des Moines University

Jeffery Waddell – Pittsburg State University

Mylo Wells – University of Iowa

Ellen Willhoit – Simpson College