Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Health Career Scholarship Recipients Honored


The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship for the 2015-2016 school year. Since 2004, when the program was developed, nearly $300,000 has been provided in scholarship support to students pursuing a health care career. “Our recipient pool is comprised of 24 talented students whose fields of study include, among others; physician, pharmacist, podiatrist, physical therapist, ARNP, PA and occupational therapist.” said Kelly Genners, the Legacy Foundation’s director of community leadership & grant-making. “Our scholarship program utilizes the “grow our own” strategy in the hopes that these fantastic students will eventually come back to their rural communities to begin their new health care careers.”

This year, $26,650 was awarded with scholarship amounts ranging from $300 to $3,000. These recipients were selected on the basis of outstanding academic record, achievement and area of study. A preference was given to applicants who expressed a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of studies and those pursuing education in a health career identified as a local workforce shortage area.  A reception was recently held on the Indian Hills Community College campus to celebrate this award with the recipients and their family and friends.  A special keynote was provided at the event by Dr. Elizabeth Tigges, a local OB/GYN physician who shared words of wisdom on reaching academic and professional goal (and keeping your sanity in the meantime).  We would like to provide a special thank you to Dr. Tigges, as well as all of the LCL Scholarship Committee members who volunteer their time to make this such a spectacular program.  And of course we wish our scholarship winners the best of luck in their future goals!


The 2015 scholarship recipients are listed below:

Charles Altfillisch (Ottumwa) – Creighton University

Shania Cubit (Oskaloosa) – William Penn University

Kristin Fipps (Bloomfield) – Drake University 

Andrew Fritz (Sigourney) – Central College

Spencer Hammack (Ottumwa) – Central College

Mikayla Hance (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College

Mitchell Hardie (Ottumwa) – Drake University

Rachel Hinebaugh (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College

Jacqueline Kincart-Wells (Bloomfield) – University of Iowa

Kelsey Ledger (Brighton) – Creighton University

Tyler Moeller (Mt. Pleasant) – University of Iowa 

Ciarra McDonald (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College

Leeha McDonald (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College

Kyle Nicholson (Ottumwa) – University of Iowa

Andrew Richmond (Oskaloosa) – University of Iowa

Andrea Rose (Ottumwa) – University of Iowa

Nicholas Sedore (Ottumwa) – Wartburg College

Tara Selvy (Albia) – St. Ambrose University

Hannah Smith   (Mt. Pleasant) – Allen College

Sydney Strunk   (Ottumwa) – Cornell College

Molly Thomas   (Centerville) – University of Iowa

Laura Van Winkle (Stockport) – Iowa Wesleyan College

Tonya Ward (Plano) – Indian Hills Community College

Mylo Wells (Milton) – University of Iowa

For more information on available scholarships, please click on the following link:  LCL Scholarship program.