Click here to access the 2022 Ottumwa Housing Study

Health Career Scholarship Recipients Announced

The Ottumwa Regional Legacy Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the Laboratory Control Ltd. Health Career Scholarship for the 2014-2015 school year.  Since 2004, when the program was developed, over $273,000 has been provided in scholarship support to students pursuing a health care career. “Our recipient pool is comprised of 25 talented students whose fields of study include, among others; physician, pharmacist, podiatrist, physical therapist, ARNP, optometrist, and dentist,” said Kelly Genners, the Legacy Foundation’s director of community leadership & grant-making. “Our scholarship program utilizes the “grow our own” strategy in the hopes that these fantastic students will eventually come back to their rural communities to begin their new health care careers.”

This year, $27,250 was awarded with scholarship amounts ranging from $500 to $3,000.  These recipients were selected on the basis of outstanding academic record, achievement and area of study.  A preference was given to applicants who expressed a desire to seek employment in southeast Iowa upon completion of studies and those pursuing education in a health career identified as a local workforce shortage area.

The 2014 scholarship recipients are listed below: 

Kaitlin Appler (Centerville) – Central College

Shania Cubit  (Oskaloosa) – William Penn University

Shelby Dunwoody (Eddyville) – Iowa Wesleyan College 

Brandon Enloe  (Ottumwa) – Iowa Wesleyan College

Danielle Ewing  (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College 

Kristin Fipps (Bloomfield) – Drake University 

Jerica Gretter  (Harper) – Mount Mercy University

Spencer Hammack  (Ottumwa) – Central College

Mitchell Hardie  (Ottumwa) – Drake University

Rachel Hinebaugh  (Ottumwa) – St. Ambrose University

Jacqueline Kincart   (Bloomfield) – University of Iowa

Stacy Mason (Ottumwa) – Saint Josephs College of Main

Leeha McDonald (Ottumwa) – Indian Hills Community College

Kyle Nicholson  (Ottumwa) – University of Iowa

Rachel Palen  (Ottumwa) – Des Moines University

Patricia Ramos   (Ottumwa) – William Penn University 

Andrea Rose  (Ottumwa) – University of Iowa

Hannah Smith   (Mt. Pleasant) – Iowa Wesleyan College

Kelsey Smithart   (Ottumwa) – Rocky Vista University

Sydney Strunk   (Ottumwa) – Cornell College

Molly Thomas   (Centerville) – Indian Hills Community College

Jacqueline Vonderhaar  (Ottumwa) – Drake University

Jenna Weidman   (Albia) – Allen College 

Mylo Wells  (Milton) – University of Iowa

Lynsey Winkel   (Centerville) – Indian Hills Community College